Welcome to the Sodus Bay Lighthouse Museum

We invite you to stop by our picturesque Lighthouse Museum overlooking the southern shores of Lake Ontario. Enjoy our free Summer Concert Series and fun-filled Fourth of July Celebration! Download 2013 5k Run Registration Form.


View Flyer

In 1824 Congress appropriated $4,500 to construct a lighthouse tower and keeper's residence at Sodus Bay. A year later Ishmael D. Hill, a veteran of the War of 1812, was appointed as its first keeper. By 1869 both structures had deteriorated to the extent that Congress appropriated $14,000 to build a second lighthouse to replace the original tower. This second stone Lighthouse Building, with its attached Tower and Fresnel Lens, was completed in 1871 and became the residence of Sodus Lighthouse Keepers for the next 80 years. This same Lighthouse is still preserved in excellent condition, and has been run as a Maritime Museum by the Sodus Bay Historical Society in accordance with an agreement and lease from the Town of Sodus since 1984.